Topic 5 Lesson learnt – future practice

Here we are, eleven weeks and five topics later I’m writing my final blogpost, at least within the ONL202 course. Who knows, maybe I’ll keep going with the blog and having it as some sort of diary for future endeavors in online education. In this last post I’ll use the questions posted on the topic-page in my reflection.


What are the most important things that you have learnt through your engagement in the ONL course? Why?

There are many things I’ve had to form an opinion on and assimilate since the start of this course. From my (actual) digital literacy, how I feel about the size and contents of my digital footprint to actively reflecting on how I feel, think and act in the roles of student, teacher and facilitator in an online environment.
The single most important thing that I’ve learnt during this course is the importance of social and emotional interaction between teacher and student but also student – student, especially in an online environment. This became evident after Topic 2 and 3 where we as a group made the leap from stage 2 (counter-dependency & fight) to stage 4 (work & productivity) according to Susan Wheelans 4 stages of group progress. It´s not like we had fights or big disagreements but during Topic 1 and especially Topic 2 I didn’t enjoy the meetings and I had to force myself to try to take a somewhat active roll which is a hard thing for me to do in many situations. In an unknown group situation and especially if the goals (in ONL, the Topics) are vague, I need to have time to observe and reflect before I feel comfortable in “taking a step forward”. Sometime around when we started working with topic 3 the mood changed, we started to talk to each other as friends and in a more open way, not just about the topic, what was on the news, our jobs but also about private things, how we felt about things and family issues etc. Since then I’ve been looking forward to the group meetings and I think the work we did after that, especially during topic 3 was really, really good.


How will your learning influence your practice?/ What are you going to do as a result of your involvement in ONL?

Right now several of us at the school of music in Piteå are in the middle of developing/migrating parts of our regular programs and several existing courses into online courses. The ONL course together with parts of the development program I’m participating in has so far been very inspirational and contributory in the development of these programs/courses so one could say that it’s already underway regarding influencing.

What are your thoughts about using technology to enhance learning/teaching in your own context?

This hasn’t changed. In my field you have to be (or at least try to be) friends with technology, whether it’s hardware or software. Like I wrote in my last blogpost, in the future I will think twice about blaming technology (“wrong platform, bad software etc.”) for badly designed courses and course-elements, or just using the wrong technology for the task(s) at hand.

Postlude (or perhaps interlude)

In my very first post I wrote: “In writing this blog I’m going to try something different to what I would normally do which is: I’m going to try to ”let the words flow” and edit as little as possible. When I’m writing to a student, a colleague, for a project and so on I am always second guessing myself and seem to dissect sentences far too long so that what I write almost always becomes (in my eyes) as correct as it can get, but a bit boring and uninspiring”

Reading through all of my blogposts and thinking about the process of writing them (or should it say “typing”?) I still don’t think my writing is as “flowing” as I would like it to be and yes, I’m still second guessing myself. ..But not nearly as much as I used to.

/Björn

References

Susan A. Wheelan (2005). Creating effective teams

3 reaktioner till “Topic 5 Lesson learnt – future practice

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your ONL experience. I feel we are all at similar pages of the same book, and we have all gained a lot from this teaching experience! I wish you the best and hope you can continue putting in practice a lot of what you have learnt these past months.

    Gilla

  2. We have reached the end of the ONL journey and maybe it’s the beginning of a new one?

    For me the major outcome of this course (or journey) is that I have become more self aware – as you write – on “how I feel, think and act in the roles of […] teacher and facilitator in an online environment”. For me this also applies to the classroom. My suggestion of a meme was Morphous (from matrix) saying ”Once you have completed the ONL course, there is no going back”. And that’s how I feel. I cannot disregard the things I experience and learnet (both good and bad), and it will forever influence my role as a teacher. I guess that is a rather good outcome of a course!

    I see you are not sure whether the blog will live on or not. I’m having the same trouble deciding about my blog. I feel that I have lots of thoughts about teaching and learning but nowhere to write them down. I usually have to write my thoughts down in order to make order out of them, to critically evaluate them, and to see if they can work, since if they just float around in my head they don’t evolve. So instead of writing them down in a file somewhere where no one sees them I’m actually considering putting my thoughts in the blog, and maybe someone stumbles upon them and provides some productive criticism! But I’m still hesitant …

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and good luck with your future endeavours!

    Gillad av 1 person

  3. Dear Björn, Thank you for your final reflections in your last blog post during this course. It is fascinating to read your reflections on how your PBL group evolved throughout the course. What were the circumstances that led to the shift during topic 3? How can you support your students in a similar situation that you were in as a group during topic 1-2? It has been a privilege to read your blog posts throughout the course and follow your development. By this I hope this post will be a coda for the ONL, but perhaps not for your academic blogging. Warm wishes, Karin

    Gilla

Lämna en kommentar

Designa en webbplats som denna med WordPress.com
Kom igång